The New Rules of Marketing & PR

Currently I attend Rowan University and I am studying Public Relations and I minor in Advertising. I am enrolled in a graduate level course as an undergrad. For Public Relations Online one of the books we were assigned to read is The New Rules of Marketing and PR by David Meerman Scott.
This book takes a new look on Public Relations and Marketing tactics. It opened my eyes to new ways of thinking. A chapter in the book is called The Old Rules of Marketing and PR Are Ineffective in an Online World. It talks about tactics that I was taught throughout my schooling career. It was amazing to see that sometimes professors are teaching outdated tactics.
Since the world is always involving, getting the message out that we want is always going to need to be updated.
I really enjoyed the chapter on Press Releases and the Journalistic Black Hole. I never enjoyed writing press releases for my class assignments. I always felt that they were not necessary. This chapter somewhat agreed with me.
This book is a staple to my Public Relations world. Since reading it I feel more comfortable as a Public Relations Practitioner and once I graduate in May, I will feel more prepared for the real world with the knowledge this book has given me.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

